Efficiency em LinkedIn+ Twitter Facebook 07538823112

The Building Communities Awards 2018 – it’s coming!

January 11th, 2018 by

Awards logo with NW

This year’s Building Communities Awards will be held on Friday 16th February 2018 at the East Midlands Conference Centre.


The event will be sponsored by Nationwide Windows and Doors and we’re really looking forward to hosting around 400 housing and construction professionals to recognise the significant contribution social housing providers, contractors and manufacturers make to our communities.

We would like to congratulate all of last year’s winners and wish this year’s nominees the best of luck.

The shortlist was announced on Friday 22nd December and this year’s finalists are listed below:

Collaborative Working

Sponsored by Vinshire Plumbing & Heating


  • Fortem & Metropolitan
  • J Tomlinson & Ashfield District Council
  • Matthews and Tannert & Mansfield District Council
  • Robert Woodhead & Bolsover District Council


Community & Social Value

Sponsored by Johnstone’s Paint


  • Acis Group
  • J Tomlinson
  • Knightstone Housing
  • Robert Woodhead


Team of the Year

Sponsored by T&S Heating


  • Gedling Homes
  • J Tomlinson
  • Swift Fire and Security


Health and Safety

Sponsored by Cawarden Co


  • Derby Homes
  • DMW Safety
  • J Tomlinson
  • Jefferies Contractors


Tenant of the Year 

Sponsored by J Tomlinson


  • Dennis Rees OBE    (Derby Homes)
  • Jean Clark    (Newark and Sherwood Homes)
  • Pam Wills    (Hinckley and Bosworth)
  • Stuart Belshaw    (NCHA)



Sponsored by Dodd Group


  • Fortem
  • Nottingham City Homes
  • Rykneld Homes
  • Robert Woodhead


Board Member of the Year

Sponsored by Sustainable Building Services (UK) Ltd


  • Kirsty Glover    (Derby Homes)
  • Lynn Clayton    (Newark and Sherwood Homes)


Apprentice of the Year

Sponsored by Fortem


  • Abigail Munn    (Gedling Homes)
  • Holly Osborn    (Derby Homes)
  • Jake Eames   (Ventro Group)


Project of the Year 

Sponsored by Hamilton 


  • Housing Plus
  • J Tomlinson and Ashfield District Council
  • Keepmoat
  • Sustainable Building Services (UK) Ltd


Social Housing New Build

Sponsored by Baily Garner


  • Keepmoat
  • Bolsover District Council  & Robert Woodhead
  • Nottingham City Homes & Robert Woodhead
  • North Kesteven District Council


Contractor of the Year

Sponsored by Vaillant


  • Gedling Homes
  • Keepmoat
  • Vinshire Plumbing & Heating
  • Sure Maintenance


Social Housing Provider of the Year

Sponsored by Grafton


  • Acis Group
  • Derby Homes
  • Golden Lane Housing
  • Rykneld Homes


Throughout 2017 we were raising money for our chosen charity- Dementia UK – much of which was possible thanks to those who attended the Building Communities Awards. Thanks to all of your support and generosity at last year’s event, we were able to raise a huge £28,000 to help the charity recruit and train Admiral Nurses to support families coping with Dementia across Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire.


This year we are hoping to match, or maybe even exceed, last year’s fundraising target for Rainbows Hospice, a fantastic charity set up to care for children and young adults with life limiting conditions and also support their families through the most difficult of times.


There are just a few tickets left for the Awards evening, if you want to join the other 400 guests attending, then please get in touch with Sophia as soon as possible on sophia@eem.org.uk or call 07496 493053. For more information on the night, or to view the menu, as well as the raffle and auction prizes, please visit the website: www.bc-awards.co.uk


We would like to say a huge thank you to all of our sponsors on the night:

  • Nationwide Windows and Doors
  • Johnstone’s Paint
  • T&S Heating
  • Cawarden Co
  • J Tomlinson
  • Dodd Group
  • Sustainable Building Services (UK) Ltd
  • Fortem
  • Hamilton Contractors
  • Baily Garner LLP
  • Vaillant
  • Grafton
  • Hodgson Sayers
  • Jewson
  • Westville Group
  • Total Reclaims
  • YBS Insulation
  • Robert Woodhead
  • Avonside
  • Rixonway
  • Matthews & Tannert




Connect with Us